Basic Components​

IB Diploma Programme students must choose one subject from each of the first five groups. For their sixth subject, students may take something from group 6 or a second subject from groups 1 to 5.

Group 1 – Studies in Language and Literature (English)

Group 2 – Language acquisition

Group 3 – Individuals and societies (social science)

Group 4 – Sciences (experimental science)

Group 5 – Mathematics

Group 6 - The arts


At least three and not more than four subjects are taken at higher level while the other subjects are taken at standard level.

There are also three core elements that broaden students’ educational experience and challenge them to apply their knowledge and skills: Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS); Theory of Knowledge (TOK) and the Extended Essay.

IB Diploma and Beyond

IB courses are scored on a 1-7 scale, with an additional three points for exemplary work on TOK and the EE. To earn an IB Diploma, a student must achieve a minimum of 24 points without failing any courses.

IB courses are recognized for advanced credit and/or placement at over 900 North American colleges and universities.

Internal vs. External Assessments

Internal assessments are graded by the teacher but sent to someone within the IB organization to be moderated.

External assessments are sent to someone within the IB organization to be graded.

Most courses utilize both types of assessments.

© 2016 by Waterloo IB. Proudly created with

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus
  • w-youtube
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now